arc-logonew-deakin-logo-keylineThe ARC Research Hub for Future Fibres is an Australian Research Council (ARC) supported initiative which strives to accelerate the transformation of the Australian manufacturing industry by developing novel fibre technologies to facilitate more sustainable, advanced manufacturing of fibre materials and products that will impact on significant global issues, including reducing our environmental footprint and improving public health and wellbeing.

The Hub received $4.7 million funding from the Australian Research Council as part of its Industrial Transformation Research Hub scheme. Further contributions from partners have given the Hub a total value of $13.2 million over five years.

Led by Deakin University, the Hub contains three research Programs, centred on nanofibres, advanced carbon fibres and high value-added applications.



 International higher education institutes:

Hub Management

Hub Director

xungai-wang1Professor Xungai Wang is the Director of the ARC Research Hub for Future Fibres, responsible for the overall strategy of the Hub.

He guides the research direction and oversees the financial and research performance of the Hub. Professor Wang is also the Director of the Institute for Frontier Materials at Deakin University, and has forged his career working at the forefront of fibre science and technology.



Hub Deputy Director

joe-razalAssociate Professor Joe Razal  is the Deputy Director of the ARC Research Hub for Future Fibres. He provides support to the Hub Director to enable the smooth operation of the Hub.




Hub Manager


Dr Emma Prime is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the Hub and acts as the bridge between the projects and the industry partners.

She comes to the Hub with 13 years of research and project management experience in the polymer field.



Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee oversees the general management and operation of the Hub and provides recommendations on the inclusion of new partners, commercial opportunities and the overall Hub mission.

Committee Members are the Hub Director, Deputy Director and Manager, and one representative from each Partner Organisation.